Methods in Molecular Complexity



November 2020: Many Congratulations to Ujjwal for completing his PhD journey! Best wishes for your future journey...

October 2020: Heartiest Congratulations to Bidhan for his successful PhD defense! Best of luck for

 your next journey....


September 2020: Congratulations to Ujjwal for his recent publication on 2-pyridone arylation in Org. Biomol. Chem!

We welcome our new graduate students Sanhita and Suparna! Best of luck....


July 2020: Congratulations to Pintu and Kalyan for completing their master's thesis successfully! RS group wishes them all the best for their next career!!


June 2020: Congratulations to Aniruddha, Saurabh and Subarna for their effort to summarize recent literature on direct 2-pyridone functionalizations beyond C3-selectivity as a mini-review in Chem. Asian J. during this difficult time! 


March 2020: Congratulations to Bidhan for the best poster award in ETCS 2020 conference!!


February 2020: Congratulations to Souradip for the best poster award in FSSM 2020 conference from RSC!!

January 2020: Congratulations to Aniruddha, Satabdi for their recent work in Chem Commun on indole C4 arylamination/annulation using anthranil!

Welcome to new PhD students Arijit and Sarbojit in RS group!! Best of Luck!!


December 2019: Congratulations to Debapratim, Gopal and Aniruddha for the recent publication in Chem Asian J on Synthesis of highly substituted 2-pyridones using fluorinated diazomalonate!


August 2019: Our paper in Chem Commun on "Regiocontrolled direct C4 and C2-methyl thiolation of

indoles under rhodium catalyzed mild conditions" becomes one of the top 10% highly cited paper for the year 2018. Congratulations to Saurabh and Ujjwal!!


July 2019: We welcome Subarna as our new PhD student. Wish him all the best for his new journey! Welcome Pintu and Kalyan as Master Project students! Good Luck.


May 2019: Gopal and Souryaban defended their master thesis's successfully. Congratulations!!

Well done Bidhan!! Best wishes for his recent publication in Chem Commun on Rh(III)-catalyzed arylation of 8-methyl/formyl quinoline using diazo compounds.


March 2019: Debapratim has defended his PhD thesis successfully! Congratulations!! Wish you all the best for your coming future Dr. Debapratim.

February 2019: Best wishes to Ujjwal for his recent publication in J Org Chem  on Pd(II)-catalyzed direct sulfonylation of benzylamines!

January 2019: Congratulations to Aniruddha and Souradip  for their recent work in Chem Eur J on Rh(III)- catalyzed step-economic synthesis of N-PAH derivatives.

November 2018: Congratulations to Debapratim and Aniruddha for representing RS group in J-NOST, held in IICT, Hyderbad.

September 2018: Saurabh has moved to University of Gottingen, Germany in Prof Tietze's group for his next post-doctoral work. Best of luck!


August 2018: Congratulations to Saurabh, Debapratim and Souradip for their recent publication in Org Lett on C5 arylation of 2-pyridone.

July 2018: RS Group welcomes Satabdi as PhD student! Gopal and Souryaban started their master thesis work! Best of luck to all!

June 2018: An invited article was published in the special issue of "Homogeneous Catalysis from       Young Investigators of Asia" of Chem Asian J. Congratulations to Bidhan and Aniruddha!

May 2018: Congratulations to Anirban and Harish for successfully defending their Master's thesis!

Welcome Gopal and Souryaban as summer project students.

March 2018: Congratulations to Aniruddha for his recent publication in Eur J Org Chem  on site-selective alkylation of indole with electronically different diazo compounds!

January 2018: RS Group welcomes Souradip as PhD student!


Dr. Rajarshi Samanta

Associate Professor

Department of Chemistry

Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur
Kharagpur - 721302, India
Phone: +913222-283310 (Office)
Email: rsamanta@chem.iitkgp.ac.in